writers.net
 
Home Writers Literary Agents Editors Publishers Resources Discussion  
  Log in  |  Join WritersNet

Published Writers browse by location | browse by topic | add listing  |  edit listing  |  faqs

Scott Rachui

Allen, Texas, United States

Email: srachui@hotmail.com

I am a 39 year old network architect currently heading up a team of professionals who are rolling out various computer technologies for one of the world's largest international banks. I have been in the Information Technology for approximately five years, having switched careers after multiple years as a counselor both in private practice and for the state of Texas. I have a Bachelor's and Master's Degree in Psychology, and live in the North Texas Area.

I grew up in East Texas, and have traveled throughout the world both for business and pleasure. Most frequently, I travel to Florida, which has become something of a second home. I have been writing since I was in high school, and succeeded in 1999 to publish my first book entitled 'MCSE Exchange Server 5.5 for Dummies' for IDG Press (co-authored with Curt Simmons). I have also written various technical articles for such magazines as 'Exchange and Outlook' and '.NET' magazines.

Since I was young, I have been an avid reader, and have tried my hand at writing short stories and, to date, two novels (both unpublished as of this writing). My subjects range from various fantasy/science fiction topics to Florida Crime fiction in the tradition of Carl Hiaasen, James Hall and Randy Wayne White.

My most recent story is a novel that centers around a man who decides to migrate to Florida and escape the corporate rat race. To do this, he purchases a scuba shop, where he hopes to live out the sort of life described in the songs popularized by Jimmy Buffett. Unknown to him, however, this dive shop is an important link in the delivery chain for an international drug cartel. The dive shop and its new owner quickly draw the attention of the drug cartel as well as other interested parties. The story is one of a simple man thrust into extraordinary circumstances, and forced to make some difficult decisions that impacts not only his life but those other lives around him.

This is only the second novel I've written, and I am currently interested in finding a publisher or agent that will show an interest in both the story and myself.

Interests: Computers, travel, all types of fiction (science fiction, fantasy, mystery, horror, military fiction, and florida crime fiction specifically)

Published writer: Yes

Freelance: Yes

 

Published works:

Nonfiction

  • MCSE Exchange Server 5.5 for Dummies