HomeWritersLiterary AgentsEditorsPublishersResourcesDiscussion
Forum Login | Join the discussion
+ Reply to Thread
    Krystena Carpenter

Cake and Ice Cream

This is one of the stories I've been laboring over since 2003. I'm desperately trying to finish it. I have it all planned out but I can't bring it to the end. It's about this man (ayzeah) and his 3 women; ex fiance/baby mama (isyss), live in lover (jerzey), and rich girl on the side (liyah). The last 2 women dont know each other exist but the ex knows all. I need help to fill in the middle. There is way 2 much to write a small synopis but if u want me 2 explain it I'll try.

Irese Sheridan

Re: Cake and Ice Cream

Krystena -- Might sound a little harsh here, but using "2 much to write a small synopsis but if u want me 2 explain" makes me cringe. Save the silly short-cuts for chat rooms and e-mails to friends. In a writer's forum, write in real words.

And if you've labored over this story for 3 years, maybe it's time to try something else. The story sounds trite. But as you stated, it could make more sense if you explained it more. In direct sentences.

Irese

leslee

What do you want us to do for you, Krystena? I don't see any question in your post.

Tom Gill

I'm no expert, but I will share what helped me. You seem to have the beginning and the end. Re-read the end and go back to the beginning, then consider what logical steps need to be taken to get there.

For example, let's say you're writing about a thief. It starts with him breaking out of jail. How did he get there? What crime did he commit? What motivates him to break out? Ask yourself these kinds of things, and maybe the middle will come together for you. Good luck

Krystena Carpenter

Thanks for the helpful hints. It is much appreciated.

Here is the synopsis....