HomeWritersLiterary AgentsEditorsPublishersResourcesDiscussion
Forum Login | Join the discussion
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
    Stacy Copping

how many query letters should I send?

I have finished my manuscript and have begun the process of submitting query letters. This is my first time and I almost feel like a young teen on her first date. How many query letters should I send? I sent fifteen on the first day and received one request to read my book. Is this typical? How long will the agent take to read my eighty-nine thousand page novel? Should I take a breath, sit back, and wait? Should I continue to query other agents? Should I go to second base? Ha Ha.

Keith .

Re: how many query letters should I send?

How long will the agent take to read my eighty-nine thousand page novel?

Just relax. You have time to raise a family, explore remote galaxies, invent alternative fuels, solve the Mideast conflict, discover Bill Clinton's morals and George W. Bush's brain. 89,000 pages! Holy crap, Amazon's shipping charges will be enormous!
    km

j/k

Stacy Copping

oops! Did I say 89,000 pages? I meant words! 89,000 words! I don't think I could write 89 thou pages in a lifetime. Although I'd probably have a much better shot at writing 89,000 page high quality novel than finding George W. Bush's brain. Does an empty peanut shell count?

Is it a good sign that one agent requested the manuscript? I'm going through the process a little backwards. I already have the family and now they expect to eat.

Matt Austin

I plan on sending to 10 agents at a time. If I don't hear anything within 2 months, I'll send to 10 more. If you've already had a reply I'd say you're off to a good start!
    Good luck!

Sapphire Savvy

10 per two months is WAY too slow, sorry, IMHO. I think your rate is pretty good, Stacy.

Stacy Copping