HomeWritersLiterary AgentsEditorsPublishersResourcesDiscussion
Forum Login | Join the discussion
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 11 1 2 3 ... LastLast
    Jay Hurd

Do I need an agent?

I am a newly published author and while my publisher has done a wonderful job in producing my book and it is available on the market, it is not getting the attention from the public I feel it deserves and am starting to consider looking for an agent to help me market the book. To get this done, what kind of agent should I look for, or can anyone suggest a good agent, perhaps in the Chicago area?

Sakamonda

Re: Do I need an agent?

There are no literary agents in the Chicago area, except for one small agency that reps primarily romance novelists. Most agents are in NYC and vicinity. The location of the agent in relation to you does not matter, but the agent must be able to interface with the NYC publishers. BTW, I live in Chicago and my agent is on the East Coast. I've never met him face-to-face, but he is repping my book to NYC publishers.

Wonky

Agents get you book contracts. I don't think they do much with marketing the books.

jayce

Wonky's right, Jay. Agents don't market books to the reading public; they earn their money selling unpublished works to publishers. I hate to say this, but you should have researched Publish America before you signed with them.

Wonky

Uh oh. Yeah, if you went with PA you're screwed. You can't even get a real publisher now--doesn't PA keep all rights for 7 years?

Jay Hurd

Thanks, I'll have to look at publicists then.

To answer Jaycee, I did research PA before choosing them and I was well aware of what I was getting into and I do not regret my decision. To this extent, I went to my brother-in-law who runs a recording studio and is very knowledgable in contract negotiations. He looked over the contract with PublishAmerica and saw no problems with it and said that if I was comfortable with the contract, then I should go with it.