HomeWritersLiterary AgentsEditorsPublishersResourcesDiscussionWritersNet Email
Forum Login | Join the discussion
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Lauren

reading manuscripts for pay

A few months ago several members responded encouragingly to my post about finding a job as an agent's assistant. I'm very grateful for all the help and advice I received. I can happily report that I've been interning at an agency for the past two months and loving every minute of it. However, I am still anxious to find paid work. I've discovered that some agencies pay freelance "readers" to go through a manuscript and write reports but I haven't been able to nail down any specific leads.

Does anyone know of agents who are looking to hire such readers? I'm sure the agents I work with now would be glad to reccommend me.

Many apologies if job-hunting is not the appropriate use of this forum...

Lois

Re: reading manuscripts for pay

Does your agency know what you're looking for? Maybe they'll pay you? No harm in asking. Publishing is a small world, and you must know the publishers your agency knows. Again, explain to the agency you're looking for a paying job, and if they can't use you in that capacity, perhaps one of their contacts might. Try networking that way.

Two months isn't very long, however, and some places may want at least six months experience. Depends on the agency/publisher and your abilities.

Good luck.

Lois

Heatherf

If you subscribe to publishers lunch, there is always a listing for job postings - I've only flipped through them once out of curiosity (I'm not looking for a job), but they might have opportunities like that come up; I know they do have agent assistant jobs and the like.

Gary Kessler