HomeWritersLiterary AgentsEditorsPublishersResourcesDiscussion
Forum Login | Join the discussion
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 7 1 2 3 ... LastLast
    Jackie Miller

I'm A New Author!!!!!!!!

Hi Everyone!

Yes...it is true!!!!!!!! I have published my 1st book titled; "Keeper of the Arts"!

You can go to; www.KeeperoftheArts.com to view my promotional flier!

*(you might have to copy and paste to your URL for now.)*

It is a Historical Fiction book about Martial Arts from five countries. The entertainment is within an Action/Adventure story.

I tried Literay Agents who look for known writers or a known writer who has refered another writer.

Publishers...well, Royalty Publishers act the same way as agents. Subsidy Publishers wanted $13,000 to print my book. Finnaly, I signed up with a Print-on-Demand Publisher (Trafford). The general range of cost to me was $1300 - $1500 in a 2 year period.

If a Royalty Publisher likes it, they will contact you to get under a contract. Otherwise, you can be a published author (like me) and get your book out there to be read.

Christos Angelis

Re: I'm A New Author!!!!!!!!

Surely, seeing your book printed feels rewarding; there's nothing wrong with that. The problem starts if you're not realistic about your expectations.

A real publisher will never, ever, offer a contract for a book that is already published, let alone for a POD book. Also, if you have made some research, you should know that POD books rarely sell more than a couple of hundred copies.

Finally, the term "published author" is and should be used for authors whose work is accepted for publication by a proper publisher-a POD author is, actually, a "printed" author, if one can use this term.

I don't mean to disappoint you, but instead to offer you perhaps a more experienced view on how things work in the publishing world, which is very, very, very hard and unforgiving.

gulliver h

oh dear.

gulliver h