HomeWritersLiterary AgentsEditorsPublishersResourcesDiscussion
Forum Login | Join the discussion
+ Reply to Thread
    Warren Bonesteel

Cover letter for book reviewers?

I'm new at this, so I need some input regarding the merits of including a cover letter with a book to be sent to book reviewers. For example, The Atlantic Monthly is interested in looking at my very first book. Should I send a cover letter? If so, should I do more than just introduce myself? Tell something about the book, perhaps, and how it came to be written?

Input? Advice? Comments? Go jump in a lake?

Thanks fer yer help.
    Bones

ahmed omar

Re: Cover letter for book reviewers?

Hi Warren, Let me the first to congratulate you for your progress of your book. I am glade Atlantic Monthly showed an interest in your book. I will try my best to give you few inputs about general submission. Here it goes.
    Cover letter is a tracking document. It’s shown around the agencies and editorial offices. If it’s junior staffer who first reads it, it’s shown to bosses. It’s brought to a meeting and discussed. It is the best indication that writer is someone to be taken seriously and therefore the letter has to be taken seriously by you the writer Warren.
    Cover letters are almost always too long. Containing a full synopsis of the book, a “short” bio that relates every event since entering high school, a myriad of marketing ideas, uninformed predictions about an enormous audience and bestseller status, most letters ramble, on trying to do everything at once. Margins get thinner, font sizes smaller and everything get lost.
    A good submission has a fairly brief cover letter, carefully written, and includes: