HomeWritersLiterary AgentsEditorsPublishersResourcesDiscussion
Forum Login | Join the discussion
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Chapter 1 of my first novel

Hey everyone, I am a new author looking to gain an audience/readership for my novel series, "Hidden Elements". I've made the first chapter available on my blog for those who are interested. I'd like to get some feedback to see if this series is worth developing. Thanks to all for your feedback! hiddenelementsblog.wordpress.com

I took a look at your chapter. It appears to run 4 or 5 manuscript pages of world building and other back-story. That's about 4 or 5 pages too many.

Suggest you dump this and cut to the chase. Get us inside a character's head, someone we can begin to identify with.

Flogging the Quill is a good site for tips and examples of what should/should not be on your first page. Good luck.

Thank you for your feedback Jayce. Should I cut the entire chapter or just parts of it? I feel like some of it is necessary as it builds context for the next chapter, which introduces Ontego and his angels, and builds on a plot point which kinda lays the foundation for the book. Would be interested in your thoughts in regards to scrapping the chapter versus condensing it!

I have to admit that I did not read your entire chapter, having been pretty much worn down by those opening pages of back-story. As to advice on your structure, I can't advise you there; only you can figure that out.

I will say this: Open in a current scene. Build your world as your tale progress, spoon-feeding the reader in bits and pieces.

For example, check out the world-building in these opening lines:

From HUNGER GAMES:
    "When I wake up, the other side of the bed is cold."

From HARRY POTTER AND THE SORCERER'S STONE:
    "Mr. and Mrs. Dursley, of number four, Privet Drive, were proud to say that they were perfectly normal, thank you very much."

And the granddaddy of all fantasy stories (guess the title):