HomeWritersLiterary AgentsEditorsPublishersResourcesDiscussion
Forum Login | Join the discussion
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Re: NEED SERIOUS HELP

Hoping I can get help with my query. I have already made some changes based on the advice of someone on WritersNet but need a couple more sets of eyes. Thank you so very much in advance!

In 2010, I was an award-winning CNN producer who was addicted to painkillers. And while it was a solitary existence, my recovery was a collective one led by my beloved father, a former alcoholic who knew what to do with a body gone mad. So begins THE OTHER SIDE OF COMING THROUGH, a 100,000 word-count memoir in which my father faces his past addiction in order to help me overcome mine.

All there was to inherit from my father, I had. He was there for me when I underwent two liver transplants before turning 30. And I stood sentry when I found him jailed or drunk in the ER. So, it was fitting that this once broken soul inadvertently taught me to master the culture of addiction and living day-to-day with unmet expectations.

Following a medical procedure, I became addicted to painkillers. Once doctors stopped refilling my prescription, I put my already tenuous health at risk by buying thousands of pills from the Internet, even pilfering painkillers from my arthritic dog. When a fateful accident forced my past and present to intersect during that fateful summer of 2010 I reluctantly entered rehab. Eventually, I detoxed amid a cast of colorful alcoholics and addicts—each providing enlightenment and levity—as I faced a classic tragedy: the tool you use to save yourself (pills) becomes the one thing that ultimately destroys you. In time, I coped with the shame of having chased one disease (addiction) while running from another (liver failure), all while examining the variances of how black and white women deal with depression.