HomeWritersLiterary AgentsEditorsPublishersResourcesDiscussion
Forum Login | Join the discussion
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Young Adult Novel Idea

Due to budget cuts, I am an unemployed school librarian. What better time to try to write my own Young Adult novel, right? Well, maybe not.

Many of my female students would ask for a "romance" that has a happy ending and no one dies.

Is that even possible these days?

Thanks.

Rogue Mutt
    I'm sure it's possible. Whether people will like it is another issue.

Sure it's possible...and people will gobble it up if it's well-written.

Heck, they'll gobble it up even if it's NOT well-written, as long as it's a good story.
    Last edited by John Oberon; 10-05-2015 at 11:29 AM.

Many of my female students would ask for a "romance" that has a happy ending and no one dies.
    One of the prerequisites for romance is that the end, if not happy, is positive, with the promise of a happy ending. The romance section of the bookstore is filled with books exactly like what you mention.

One of the first things I'd do is join your local RWA chapter. And if one isn't nearby, join the online group.They're supportive, helpful, fun, and membership provides a chance to meet successful authors in your genre. Depending on the location you may meet and talk with agents and publishers, and have visits by authors you've probably read. And, their yearly convention is a hoot.

Another thing, if you've not read it, is to pick up a copy of Debra Dixon's, GMC: Goal Motivation & Conflict, from any online seller, or as a hard copy from Deb's website. It's a warm, easy read, and a gentle introduction to the nuts-and-bolts professional issues every writer should be aware of as they write.

Hope this helps.

Rogue Mutt
    One of the prerequisites for romance is that the end, if not happy, is positive, with the promise of a happy ending.