HomeWritersLiterary AgentsEditorsPublishersResourcesDiscussion
Forum Login | Join the discussion
+ Reply to Thread

Hybrid View

Advice on Drafts?

So I'm currently 25k into the second draft of a novel that I've been actively focusing on for about a year now. I'm a full time nursing student working part time, so I haven't got tremendous amounts of time, but I sneak in what work I can.

At any rate, I feel that the story isn't going in the direction I had envisioned, and I'm feeling the urge to scrap the current draft and begin again. The story feels like it's lacking conflict and there are several character aspects I want to revamp, but I realize there comes a point when you need to just stick with a draft and pound it out, come what may. However, I've gotten to the point that it's not interesting me anymore, and I know it's nearly impossible to infuse a story with believability if the author's not invested.

So my question to you is: do I revamp, or do I tough it out and finish my current draft?

I tend to be in the "scrap it and start again" camp. If the story isn't taking you where you want to go, you need to regroup. It might help to have someone else look at what you have first, though; it may be that you're just getting discouraged because of the time it's taking you to pull your story together. If nothing else, set it aside and play with another idea. You might come back to this one with a fresh perspective.

Thanks, Gilfindel, I really appreciate your reply- it's always good to get someone else's perspective. I've decided to toss my current draft and start again, and I've already begun the revision stage. Hopefully I can finally get the issues sorted out this time around!