HomeWritersLiterary AgentsEditorsPublishersResourcesDiscussion
Forum Login | Join the discussion
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Eire Spore page 1

To see if I am getting better I have tossed y'all the first page of a short story I am writing. It is all dialogue so excuse the lack of breaks. Appreciate any comments you can give.

“Oh my goodness it’s beautiful, Danny. To think that a month and a few days ago I was sunk into apathy and thought I had used up my luck.” Mira Gracie said
    “It is a beauty but the chances are that it will kill us. I’m sorry but I have questions about your idea of luck.” Danny Malloy replied
    “You can never know how betrayed I felt. I was a pilot for the U.N. My job was to help keep the Caucasus Mountains free of terrorists. While I was doing that they allowed revolutionaries in my home country to take over and begin re-educating Brazil. They didn’t even bother to tell us about it. The revolutionaries met me at the airport and delivered me directly to a military slum at the edge of the forest. I have never been able to find out about my family. They didn’t allow us computers or our own phones. There was one landline in the warden’s office. Being here was a godsend, as is that green marble over there.”
    “I am very sorry about all of that and yes I am glad that we volunteered for this. I meant more along the lines of the fact that a huge and hostile alien fleet is headed toward Earth. I was also talking about us being stuck in this little ship with about six more hours of air and very little reaction mass.”
    “But that little godsend of a world is only four hours away and apparently unoccupied. We land and take a big breath, so what if it kills us. I love all of this high tech **** but I would rather not asphyxiate in it. Maybe someday someone will figure out what happened and find our bodies. Maybe they will name the world after us.”