HomeWritersLiterary AgentsEditorsPublishersResourcesDiscussion
Forum Login | Join the discussion
+ Reply to Thread

A couple of pages

Hi Everyone,

I am currently battling my way through query hell and some one in that forum suggested that I post the first couple of pages of my novel here for people to review. To head of the slew of grammar corrections that are coming my way I will say that I have a friend of mine ( a newspaper editor) reading and correcting for me. I haven't gotten it back yet so this is the raw version. Also a quick heads up that my background is mainly in poetry so keep that in mind. Thanks in advance.

Grand Junction, Colorado

The bitch was ugly. No two ways about it. Around a wide mouth with a protruding lower chin was a pushed up face like a smashed beer can. Jowly. One eye was swollen shut with a tear of pussy yellow sorrow holding fast on the outer corner. The other eye clear and gold. Confusingly long knobby legs welded to a round short torso. She was sitting spread eagle against the green dumpster in the late morning heat. Smiling and panting. Her eight exaggerated nipples ropy and flat against her exposed brindled belly. Yep she was one ugly bitch. I watched her for a while then headed through the glass door of the Exxon gas station.

"You know anything about the dog out by the dumpster?" I asked the girl at the register as I headed toward the soda fountain.

She shrugged her shoulder at me and went back to stocking cigarettes behind the counter. I selected a 64 ounce mega cup and filled it to the brim with water before grabbing a bag of smoked beef jerky. At the counter as I paid $5.10 for my goods I noticed that her black dye job was showing a good inch of dirty blond and that the edges of her Cleopatra eyeliner was smudged but, the hand that dropped ninety cents into my palm was perfectly manicured without so much as a chip in the shining plum nail polish. My own nails were rimmed dark with dirt.