HomeWritersLiterary AgentsEditorsPublishersResourcesDiscussion
Forum Login | Join the discussion
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

New Story Concepts

I realized a while back that, while I do enjoy writing fiction stories, I actually enjoy coming up with ideas for fiction stories more. I have more concepts floating around in my brain than I have time left on this mortal Earth to actually write them.

I find myself in the habit of pondering, while I'm reading someone else's tale, "I could write something like this, but I'd do it this way." I'll scribble a few notes down, set them aside, and keep on going. Every now and then, I'll actually pick one of them and start writing. Three down, roughly fifty-seven more to go....

In order to keep costs down to basically zero, I've self-published my novels with covers I've designed myself. I'm not a graphic artist (as others here will agree, I'm sure ;-), but I enjoy experimenting with text and images to find something that captures the mental picture I have in mind for the story.

Here's the latest two that I've come up with. Ignore the Shutterstock watermarks; I'm just using low-res versions of the images for the drafts.

The first one is a somewhat tongue-in-cheek take on the Cinderella story, in the style of a hard-boiled detective story. I've actually started writing this one, although we'll have to see if this holds my interest to see it through to the end.

The second one is a modern-day thriller, based on the exciting world of encryption and electronic privacy. This one interests me, since it relates peripherally to the work I do in real life, although I haven't tackled this particular genre before.

I still owe my other daughter her steampunk horror story ("The Clockwork Horror"), but that one's not coming together cohesively in my head just yet. I'll have to let that percolate a bit more before it sees the light of day.