HomeWritersLiterary AgentsEditorsPublishersResourcesDiscussion
Forum Login | Join the discussion
+ Reply to Thread

Hybrid View

Promoting my website

Hello,

I have just started a site on DreamHost, (unhappened.com), and need advice on how to get traffic.

The aim of my site is to promote a remarkable novel by someone else, not me, and I believe once it gets going, once word gets around, I believe everything will be fine.

I have added my url to as many search engines as I could find, (which probably accounts for all the visitors so far), I have emailed web-promotion companies for advice, to which very few have even replied, except to ask what I am selling, (a person), then ask for money I cannot afford.

I am a student of arts with limited funds, and I don't have much technical knowledge, but I have unlimited faith in my project of introducing the world to the most remarkable, strange, challenging, and beautifully written work I have ever read, and I have read heaps.

I do not subscribe anywhere, rarely comment, or have any efriends, (I have a few physical friends), so I am not exactly gregarious, more a quiet loner, but I am more than willing to do what it takes, even selling my old car and pay someone to get my site noticed.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thankyou,

Lauren Wills

Radio. Check out a few stations that draw a large portion of the demographic you're targeting, and find out what they charge for advertising. You might be surprised. If you can catch a devoted following in a particular geographical area, sometimes it's like dropping a stone in a pond - the interest spreads. Gotta write a good ad though.