HomeWritersLiterary AgentsEditorsPublishersResourcesDiscussion
Forum Login | Join the discussion
+ Reply to Thread

Query Letter Help (Criticism Appreciated)

Dear Agent,

I would like to offer a semi-autobiographical novel for your consideration.

With Ivy League dreams and a unique naivety, Justin and Ashton transfer into the notoriously underperforming Clark County School District, Las Vegas, Nevada. They embark upon a quest to take as many Advanced Placement classes as possible and to conquer the college admissions process. Reality intervenes.

At the heart of the novel is an epic struggle between cynicism and compassion as Justin and Ashton each must find a way to cope with the daily absurdities inherent within Green Stick High School. Their story brutally exposes the harsh failures of the American education system from the inside out.

Tales of a Valedictorian is 66,000 words of Adderall-fueled insanity.

I am a recent graduate of Palo Verde High School. I am 17 years old. I have seen things I shouldn't have.

Sincerely,
    Samuel Johnson

First, trash this attempt and write the story in about 400-500 words. Just explain the plot and conflict and tell what the main characters do in present tense. Post that, then we'll pare it down.

Second, tone down your rhetoric. Two guys trying to get into college is no "epic struggle", trouble inside a single high school does not exemplify "the harsh failures of the American education system", and I don't think even the most devoted bookaphile wants to read "66,000 words of Adderall-fueled insanity". Just tell the story as plainly and simply as you can, then we'll polish the language to make it sound like something an agent would want to read.

Finally, 66K is kinda low, especially if this is your first novel. Makes it tougher to sell.