HomeWritersLiterary AgentsEditorsPublishersResourcesDiscussion
Forum Login | Join the discussion
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Create a Space

Create a Space

Why shouldn't I use Createaspace to self publish? It looks pretty easy. Cover design, interior layout and author copies all seem cheaper there.

Greg: I have no first-hand knowledge, but if you do search you'll turn up a ton of threads on the subject. And it's createspace, not createaspace.

Good luck.

Sorry Greg, I also don't know about self-publishing at Createspace. I did my own formatting/layout, hired a cover artist (was not expensive), purchased an ISBN for ten bucks through Smashwords, and put it online as an ebook through Smashwords, Amazon, and Barnes and Noble. Smashwords then distributed it to Sony, Apple iBookstore, Kobo, and Diesel for me.

The only thing is I don't get any printed copies nor am I doing POD at this time.

Thanks Lea and Jayce,

I have been looking through the other createspace comments on here. There is a lot of good info. Createspace offers the cover design and interior layout for a good price, but maybe I can't take those layouts over to BandN. I might want to use designers so I can transfer the files onto both places for free. The book printing option at Createspace is important to me though because I do want to sell copies at presentations I give. They charge about 3.85 per copy for 250 pages.

CreateSpace is just fine to use. Two of my (traditional) publishers are moving to use it too rather than either print runs or Lightningsource POD, because they say it's easier, cheaper, and comes with better on-line distribution (quickly pushing out brick and mortar stores for sales) than anything else they have been using or have considered using.

Those publishers also then put it out with Smashwords and other distributors too for the e-book versions.

Gary, not to mention - it gets to your readers so much faster.