HomeWritersLiterary AgentsEditorsPublishersResourcesDiscussion
Forum Login | Join the discussion
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Where do you place you eyes when typing?

I often am not sure if I should look at the computer screen when I'm writing or look at something else. My experience is that each has pros and cons. When I watch the screen my typing is more precise and I make fewer mistakes, but when I look at something other than the screen I feel like my ideas sometimes flow better.

I am relatively new to the writing craft so I haven't figured out what works best. I am just wondering other people's experience...

Senior Member Miranda Clementine's Avatar
    Everyone is different, so do whatever is best for you. I tend to not watch the screen, as you mentioned, the creativity flows better when I'm not watching for mistakes.
    Even those who make their living in dreamland must do their chores in the real world.
    -Scarlett Rice
    MC

The screen for me.

Same thing when I play the piano; I keep my eyes on the sheet music (until I have to turn the darn pages).

It probably depends on how skilled you are working the keyboard. If you're a hunt-and-pecker....(ooh, did that last word make it through? )

*_*

Um...I have to look at the keys at least 75% of the time. I never did learn how to type correctly. I started writing stories on a typewriter (a manual Royal) when I was 9, and by the time I took typing (yeah, typing--not keyboarding) in junior high I was doomed for life.

Quote Originally Posted by Kitty Foyle View Post
    Same thing when I play the piano; I keep my eyes on the sheet music (until I have to turn the darn pages).

It probably depends on how skilled you are working the keyboard. If you're a hunt-and-pecker....(ooh, did that last word make it through? )
    Do you have a problem with wood-peckers Kitty??