HomeWritersLiterary AgentsEditorsPublishersResourcesDiscussion
Forum Login | Join the discussion
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Hybrid View

Fiction-writing questions

I love to read, but my interest is almost exclusively in nonfiction. I have read a few novels that I thoroughly enjoyed, and they've given me a lot of inspiration and direction with my own writing, but I still feel out of my element with fiction. I have no formal education in creative writing, so I'm trying to educate myself as I go. My questions may be very amateurish, but... well... I am an amateur at this point. LOL

First, I've written a memoir and will probably attempt to have it published. I've made every effort to write it as accurately and honestly as possible, but much of it is drawn from memory. Is it necessary to verify the truthfulness of everything written, or is it generally accepted that if the story is written to the best of the author's recollection that it is accurate? In other words, if I'm not lying or fabricating events in the story but it later comes out that I was mistaken about a detail (for example, I state that an event occurred in 1989 because I thought it did, but it actually occurred in 1990) is this a big deal? My memoir is written from memory, and some details from childhood I cannot be certain about. Due to the relationship I have (don't have) with my family, I cannot verify everything I've written. I'm hoping this won't be a problem.

Second, I used my own name and the names of my family members, because I felt like the story would lose credibility if I changed them. I also discuss some personal details about them. I describe, for example, my sister's quirky personality and a surgery that she had as a child. These details are entirely relevant, even necessary, to the story. Is it acceptable to discuss personal details about other people when writing a memoir?