HomeWritersLiterary AgentsEditorsPublishersResourcesDiscussion
Forum Login | Join the discussion
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Suite101

Suite101

I see that there are about four pages of forum members that write for Suite101. I just recently starting writing articles for them, but I want to pose the question: Would that be a good thing to put in query? I've read mixed reviews about the site and I wonder if there is a stigma associated with it in the literary world. On one hand, it's writing experience and on the other, it may be dismissed easily by a prospective agent.

Thomas, I've no experience with Suite101, other than eschewing those links when I'm googling anything. But since no one has offered specific advice, I'll just speak to what I think I know about the generalities of writing credits.

Pay
    If a market doesn't pay writers, it's generally not considered a professional credit. There are loads of places that solicit writers, and they can be great experience, but until you get a check, it's not usually considered a professional credit.

Competitive
    The other part is how competitive a market is. The more competitive, the better the credit. Even a non-paying credit can be bona fide if it's in a competitive market. Right? If I publish my letter to the editor in my little hometown newspaper, that's not saying much. If the NY Times publishes my letter, that's saying something because the competition is stiff.

Perception