HomeWritersLiterary AgentsEditorsPublishersResourcesDiscussion
Forum Login | Join the discussion
+ Reply to Thread
    imported_amy nigro

non fictional character in fiction book

I am new to writing and am working on a book where the fictional characters meet someone who was a real person. Letters and journals of the real person have been published (Think Anne Frank). What are the rules about using quotes from their letters as part of the dialogue? Should I be contacting the publisher for permission to use information from the publishd work?

Re: non fictional character in fiction book

amy,

Using passages from other works is complicated. You need to research this thoroughly. In general, there's a doctrine of fair use that allows writers to freely use portions of a work. It's based on percentage, I think. Like even a line from a poem or song could be too much, but a passage from a book-length work would be fine. If you're using historical letters, it's probably that the letters themselves are in the public domain, although the work in which they are published may still be under copyright. If you've only got one historical figure's writings to deal with, it shouldn't be too hard to figure out if the material is still under copyright, and, if so, who owns it. (Check the copyright page of the source book. It may list copyright permission for the letters and journal, which might tell you who owns the copyright, if anyone.) If you just quote a few lines or passages, you should be fine. But do some research.

What CK said.

My MS has a lot of history and several quotes/statements from real (and famous) characters/people.
    I have used sections of their speeches for example and always shown it to be a quote/statement/speech of the actual person (and even in some cases stated where it was first published such as the New York Times)