HomeWritersLiterary AgentsEditorsPublishersResourcesDiscussion
Forum Login | Join the discussion
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Edited Query for Non-Fiction

If I may bother you one more time? Those of you who are not already sick and tired of this, and I could not blame you....

But I tried to incorporate all the helpful feedback I received, and this is the new and hopefully improved version of my Query:

======================================

The......Agency
    1234 Boulevard
    City, State, Zip code

January 31, 2011

Dear John Doe

Although I saw that your agency was taking a short break, I am hoping that you have started reading new proposals again and I would like to submit my query.

As a clinical psychologist I have a small private practice in Northern California where I also work with the local Psychiatric Emergency Team. Much of my current research has been in the area of Attachment Disorders (AD), which were incidentally also the thesis of my doctoral dissertation. Most of today's literature and research about Attachment Disorders still centers around children. This book, however, will be about adults who showed signs of AD as children and how they now, in adulthood, function in close relationships .

The main focus of my book is on adult romantic relationships and what difficulties in that area are often encountered by adults who had attachment disorders as infants and children. I outline and explain two new and distinct categories. One is the Adult Attachment Disorder (AAD), the other is the Adult Detachment Disorder (ADeD).