HomeWritersLiterary AgentsEditorsPublishersResourcesDiscussion
Forum Login | Join the discussion
+ Reply to Thread

Query for Non-fiction proposal

Hi,
    this agency only takes non-fiction works, but also specifies that it is interested in queries before sending proposals. They also said it is okay to send queries while they are taking their 'break".

What do you think of the following.

=======================================
    The......Agency
    1234 Boulevard
    City, State, Zip code

January 31, 2011

Dear John Doe

Your website indicated that since last September you have chosen to take a break from reading new proposals from writers not already being represented by your Agency,. However, it did not state for how long this break was going to last. Hoping that you have started reading new proposals again, I would like to submit my query.

As a clinical psychologist I have a small private practice in Northern and I also work with the local Psychiatric Emergency Services team. Much of my research has been around attachment disorders (AD), which were also in the thesis of my doctoral dissertation. Most of today's literature and research in the Attachment Disorder area still centers around children. This book, however, will be about adults who showed signs of AD as children and how they now, in adulthood, deal with close relationships .

The main focus of my book is on adult romantic relationships and the difficulties in that area encountered by adults who had attachment disorders as infants and children. I outline and explain two new and distinct categories. One is the Adult Attachment Disorder (AAD), the other is the Adult Detachment Disorder (ADeD).