HomeWritersLiterary AgentsEditorsPublishersResourcesDiscussion
Forum Login | Join the discussion
+ Reply to Thread

Desperate For Critique!

Hello All,

Below is a draft of the first few paragraphs of a novel I'm attempting. The history is accurate, also use of terms like "tis" etc. Is it interesting? Boring? Confusing? Pace too slow or too fast? Wordy? Are the characters interesting and realistic? I'm very new to fiction and would appreciate any feedback - I'm not sensitive.

THE NEW HAMPSHIRE GRANTS (MODERN SOUTHERN VERMONT), SECOND WEEK OF MAY, 1757

If only she...

Thoughts about Betsy vanished when Philip Moore heard the strange noise coming up the path. Hemlock needles scratched his face as he tilted his head and held his breath. For several moments, he heard only the usual murmurs of the deep forest at mid-day, pierced by the shriek of a jay. Then, low voices seeped from behind the trees down the path and his fingers curled around his pistol. He was already secreted in the deepest shadows of the hemlock but took another quiet step back. A frown creept over his face as he squinted through the branches.

They would not be talking...'Tis someone else ... He set the pistol barrel on a branch and slid his thumb to the hammer. As he watched through the needles, a form approached the path through the lattice of leaves and trees.

A muscular Indian wearing leggings and a breech cloth glided from the woods. His stern face and chest were painted in black and red streaks and two feathers dangled from his scalp lock. He gripped a tomahawk in his right hand, held low by his thigh. A musket hung across his back, the muzzle sticking up above his shoulder. Close behind him was a young white man, dressed in the dirty uniform of a Lieutenant of the La Reine French Regulars. A Charleville musket was strapped loosely, almost casually over his shoulder.

The Indian's eyes darted toward the hemlock as he stepped onto the path and he began to raise the tomahawk.