HomeWritersLiterary AgentsEditorsPublishersResourcesDiscussion
Forum Login | Join the discussion
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 17 1 2 3 11 ... LastLast

It's getting tempting...

I was talking to one of my writer friends, last night. He pointed out that when he started out, back in the'70s, books were shorter, prices were lower and a new writer could expect an advance between five and ten thousand dollars. Now, books are somewhat longer, prices are much higher and advances are half of what they were.

He also said that his daughter has just written a book. Being a skilled editor by trade, she was able to get the book ready on her own, so instead of going the traditional route she's put it up on Amazon as an ebook, priced at $3. AFAIK, the only publicity has been his mentioning the book on his website, along with the fact that it takes place in "his SF universe." The book has sold between 800 and 1000 copies in the first two weeks, and she keeps 70% of the price.

It's getting tempting...

Re: It's getting tempting...

I am not surprised. I read that Amazon sold 13 million Kindles during the Christmas season. Everyone with a new reading device, whether its a Kindle or one of the others, wants new books to read.

RW

My book comes out this fall. So far I've earned over four hundred thousand in advances. My book is going to be translated into six different languages so far.

If I can do it, so can others.

So forgive me but I get annoyed when people make comments about how advances are terrible and new writers should go the self-published route because of that.

From what I've seen, most self-published books sell ok the first month and then go steadily downhill. Even with a huge amount of marketing, they still don't do as well.

Arden, are you a well-published, veteran author? Or is this your first? If you're well-published, I can see where you already have the fan base to command such a high advance. But that is not the norm, is it?