HomeWritersLiterary AgentsEditorsPublishersResourcesDiscussion
Forum Login | Join the discussion
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast

An Excerpt - Please review if inclined

Hello!

I am posting a snippet of my current WIP to see what you all think. I am trying to present a clear voice for a young adult mystery. Please let me know your thoughts on the intro.

Thanks for your time.

Pamela

Chapter 1

As I looked out the dirty window of my dad’s old pick-up truck, I thought about journeys. They were funny things, journeys. I’d been on many of them, some long, some short, some good and some bad. However, before today, I'd never taken any kind of journey with my dad that I could remember. As he drove me through Boulder, I glanced at his moving mouth and thought that I should have been paying better attention. After all, this was the first real conversation I’d had with my father since maybe the age of six. Instead I studied my hands, red and cracked from the dry Colorado air. There was no denying it, I still held a grudge. My eyes drifted out the window to brown slabs of iron rising in jagged, flat shapes in front of tree-dotted mountains; I suddenly remembered the slabs were called Flatirons and finally got why.

He continued, trying to explain why he left me so many years ago, and I continued to pretend not to care. My face twitched a little as he implied that his leaving was my mother’s idea. I knew, for sure, that wasn’t the case. I had heard her endless cries through thin walls for years after he left, interrupting what little sleep I was able to get, and I still flinched at the memory of her dead eyes each morning as I readied myself for the drudgery of middle school.