HomeWritersLiterary AgentsEditorsPublishersResourcesDiscussion
Forum Login | Join the discussion
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Meet Cute

Rogue Mutt

Meet Cute

This is going to be a little awkward with the lack of formatting on this site. (You can read the whole thing with proper formatting at http://roguemutt.wordpress.com) So for the opening I'll point to the paragraphs that are narration with a > and the rest of it is from the movie script Tom is writing.

EXT. SECOND CUP CAFÉ – MORNING

An empty patio outside a coffeehouse. There are round tables of various sizes with wicker-looking chairs around each table.

Only one table is occupied. A Latina woman occupies one chair with a cup of coffee. She’s reading a book—a mass market thriller. Her name is—

>I had to stop as I considered what to name the character. Peering over the top of my laptop’s screen, I studied the woman sitting across the patio. The shape of her nose and the warmth of her eyes resembled Penelope Cruz—at least in my mind. That would be a good name for her, unless I thought of something better later.

Her name is PENELOPE. While she reads the book, she drums her fingers on the table, as if she’s waiting for something to happen.

Enter from the left an adult golden retriever. The dog has a leash attached, but there’s no one holding it.

The dog gallops towards Penelope, who pays it no attention. The dog leaps up at her playfully, its wagging tail batting the coffee from the table.

TOM—

>I stopped again, wondering if it was really a good idea to name the character after myself. I glanced over the laptop again, where Penelope was still reading her book, unmolested by any canines. Well, why not? I could do a global replace later.

TOM comes running in from the same direction as the dog. He’s wearing a T-shirt and running shorts from his morning jog.

TOM
    (exasperatedly)
    Max, down boy! Leave that nice lady alone.