HomeWritersLiterary AgentsEditorsPublishersResourcesDiscussion
Forum Login | Join the discussion
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 8 1 2 3 ... LastLast
    Olga Gardner Galvin

on trying to avoid shady publishers

Hi everybody,

I'm new to this discussion, and the reason I wandered in is that I was checking out the reputation of Tate Publishing. I saw their Google ad on Book Standard, and it said "Get your book published today." I'm a small publisher, and I can tell you it takes considerably longer than "today" to get your book published, so any publisher who offers to publish it today sounds odd to me.

I didn't see anywhere on their site the request for $4,000, but numerous people here mention it, and that's a dead giveaway of a vanity press, their claims to the contrary notwithstanding. A publisher who wants any money from you for anything, upfront, is a vanity publisher.

I recently wrote a fairly extensive article on what to expect from small, alternative publishing. Perhaps some of you would be interested in reading it on writingshow.com (http://writingshow.com/?page_id=45); it answers a lot of questions. Or, if you have any other questions, post them here, and I\'ll check in from time to time.

To preempt the question "what's in it for her and why is she bothering?": as I write in this article, "As a small independent publisher with experience in working in big publishing, Iím naturally concerned about unrealistic expectations that aspiring authors appear to have ó concerned both because these authors are cruising for a bruising and because most small publishers donít deserve the acrimony that frequently ensues when authors sign contracts without first learning a few things about publishing."

Best,
    Olga

Carol O

Re: on trying to avoid shady publishers

A great way to avoid shady publishers (and agents), is to avoid any who advertise via Google ad, or in the back of magazines.

Ann Crispin

Tate Publishing is definitely a vanity press.

-Ann C. Crispin