HomeWritersLiterary AgentsEditorsPublishersResourcesDiscussion
Forum Login | Join the discussion
+ Reply to Thread
    action adventure writer

thank you to all and question for Mark Pheonix

I want to thank all of you for the feedback you've given me generously on my dilemma of whether to accept the advance from the publisher in New York through the agent in DC or if POD would hold more advantages.

To be frank, I was surprised that on a message board that is about POD publishing that almost everybody would say it is a very, very bad idea. I went to visit an old English professor of mine to get advice as well and we talked about it a long time and then I showed him this message board on the computer in his office.

I was shocked when he said the POD Authors are the ones who are not good Authors and who cannot write as well as I can and that is why they have to go POD. My former teacher told me I am a much better writer than the POD writers--I was kind of embarrassed actually because this is my first book and I do not necessarily consider myself a 'better' writer than somebody whose book I haven't read.

But my teacher said "Steph, these POD people are losers!"

That is way too harsh. He is a man of many opinions.

In any case I want to thank everyone who said I should take the advance instead and that is what I am going to do and then cross my fingers and hope for my publishing luck!