HomeWritersLiterary AgentsEditorsPublishersResourcesDiscussion
Forum Login | Join the discussion
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
    A. Gray

What About Print On Demand Publishing ?

Print On Demand Publishing is new and innovative, a child of the new cyber generation of communication. Requiring no literary agent, being less time consuming, being less expensive, one would expect it to be welcomed, embraced, and coddled by the overburdened traditional world of publishing. Read on . . .

I decided on a POD (Print On Demand) Publisher after I could not get my work read by any traditional houses to whom I submitted. I was refused because I had been unable to secure the services of a literary agent for lack of a background of published books. (I have been writing and pubishing short stories for many years without such representation.) When the POD publishing process was completed, I was very happy with my published book. Press releases were sent out from my publisher to the media. I gave signed copies of the book to friends and family and sent more copies to selected book reviewers and waited for the plaudits to begin.
    Bingo! Rave reviews from friends and family. Many ordered additional copies of the book to give as gifts. I was thrilled to be acknowledged as a novelist!

But what was this? Not a peep from the media? How could that be? Finally, after an inquiry to my home town newspaper, I received the bad news: "It is our (name withheld) newspaper's policy NOT to review Print On Demand books." Now, please understand, that policy covers not just my POD book BUT ALL POD BOOKS. Suddenly, it hit me! By their silence, I had received a blanket rejection from all 100 media recipients of my press releases. My book would not be reviewed anywhere! I was dismally aware I would not win recognition through desirable media exposure!