HomeWritersLiterary AgentsEditorsPublishersResourcesDiscussion
Forum Login | Join the discussion
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Self Publishing

A.T. Poole

Self Publishing

If I was to self-publish my book just to have for myself and sell to a few friends & family, how would this affect my chances of getting picked up by a professional publishing company? Would I still be able to submit my MS to agents & publishing houses after I did a short run of POD for my personal enjoyment?

Thanks in advance!

Kevin Connelly

Re: Self Publishing

Hey there all who are listening, or in this case reading. I am completely new to this site and posted my first question in the wrong place. Basically I have the same question as A.T. Poole. I would be most grateful for your insights.
    I am not a new struggling author. I am a middle aged struggling author who has always been employed elsewhere. I have published quite a few social commentaries and a few technical articles in a former life. I am new to pursuing the rough waters of getting a novel published. (It will probably help me to lose a few pounds, which is good.)
    In any case, I think I have a book that will sell and am looking to your experience. Thanks nuevos amigos.

danilo smajich

Hi Kevin -
    Finally read the posts-to-which-lay-dormant-minds!
    I cannot fathom that from the highly interesting and
    timely post that raised a sensitive, ethical-legal
    question about self publishing, nobody had a reply.

Where are all the Agents[so-called]?
    Where are all the Publishers?
    How about other writer-authors? Are you too busy at
    book signings?

Well?

...danilo...

Victoria Strauss

A.T.--