HomeWritersLiterary AgentsEditorsPublishersResourcesDiscussion
Forum Login | Join the discussion
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Sheila Leverson

Your opinions solicited

Here is an attempt at a prologue, or perhaps it will turn out to be a flashback. It occure several years before the main story begins.

I would love to hear a general critique, but would also be interested in these specifics (I've never written fiction before): Does the language and hints at setting convey the fact that this is the rural south? Does it sound cliche? Is the evil in the boy portrayed satisfactorily? Does it make you long to know more?

Thanks in advance...

Prologue
    --------

Granny Blanche washed potatoes in the kitchen sink, peering with irritation through yellow gingham curtains at her young grandson in the back yard. He was playing with his metal cars behind the farm machinery, smashing them into each other in imitation of spectacular high-speed crashes. "Them movies is a bad influence on the young 'uns," she observed to herself.

"Elliott!" she called sharply through the open window. "Put your toys away now and come on and help Grady and me shuck this corn."

Elliott deliberately ignored her: he always did. She had had it up to here with him-- he was a bad boy, come from bad seed, and that was the God's truth. She had happened upon him just three days ago, in the back pasture. Sickened, she watched as he threw seven tiny, frightened kittens high into the air one by one, attempting to ring them like horseshoes onto the horns of the bull. He was a dead aim. The two kittens that managed to escape a sickening death on the sharp tips of horn were trampled by the enraged animal seconds later. Elliott laughed victoriously at each kitten's death, jumping and clapping with glee. When he finally caught sight of Granny Blanche he smiled an enigmatic smile and ran off into the orchard.