HomeWritersLiterary AgentsEditorsPublishersResourcesDiscussion
Forum Login | Join the discussion
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Phil Reynolds

Developing Relationships

Hi there. First of all, I'm new to this site, so I apologize if any of my questions in my first few posts seem out of place.

I'm currently working on a horror novel that I've been developing for the last two years or so, and vital to the plot is the development of the friendship/relationship between two characters. For some reason, I find it exceptionally hard to figure out how to show this relationship developing. The characters meet at the beginning of the novel, and they have to develop a strong, albeit somewhat unhealthy, attachment to one another before the ending. This occurs in a timeline of roughly three or four months. As I said, my problem is with showing that relationship's growth. Does anyone have any tips?

Thanks in advance for all your help.

Jeanne Gassman

Re: Developing Relationships

Phil,

Hmm...Unhealthy friendships/relationships are often formed on the basis of co-dependency and/or secrets, so you could start with that. They also tend to have an exclusivity about them, the "us-against-them" viewpoint.

My advice would be to read a few novels that portray this type of relationship. The first one that comes to mind is a creepy mystery called The Secret History, by Donna Tartt. I think it was published in the early '90s, so it should still be in print.

Look at some of the Stephen King books, too. Some of them have characters who have formed unhealthy attachments. Another resource might be some memoirs about bad relationships.

Sorry, but it's too early in the morning here for me to think of many specific titles.

Hope that helps, though.

Jeanne

Patrick Edwards

Hey, Phil. Welcome

I have a quick question before I suggest anything. In the 2 years you've been working on this, have you "finished" the story? Meaning, have you actually written beginning-middle-end?