HomeWritersLiterary AgentsEditorsPublishersResourcesDiscussion
Forum Login | Join the discussion
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
    Matt Austin

The Lottery Question

When I started writing four years ago I asked myself if I would be any good at it. Is this something I want to do?

The answer to the first question wasn't clear at the time, I knew I wasn't very good in the beginning, but as time went by I became more comfortable with it.

Years ago a friend asked me if I won a big lottery, would I keep doing what I was doing for a living. I didn't hesitate for a moment. The answer was NO. A lot of people say they would have to keep working in some capacity because they couldn't imagine doing nothing at all.

I really like the idea of golfing and touring around the world, and doing nothing else.

The same friend asked me that same lottery question yesterday. I surprised myself by instantly saying I would want to keep writing. Sure, I'd be writing on a beach in the Dominican, but I'd still be trying to become a published author. I enjoy it that much.

Do I think I'm good at it? Yes I do, and I think that's the difference. I'm a professional cartoonist now and an aspiring author. A lot of people say I'm a VERY good cartoonist, but I've never really loved doing it, so I never felt confident enough to say I was good at it.

I know I'm not a GREAT writer, and maybe I never will be, but I enjoy it more than anything else I've ever done so I'm going to keep doing it, published or no, wealthy or not.

Can anyone else answer the lottery question? Any stories you'd like to share.

Rogue Mutt

Re: The Lottery Question

If I won the lottery I'd be too busy in my hot tub full of supermodels to worry about writing anything.

Misty Mann