HomeWritersLiterary AgentsEditorsPublishersResourcesDiscussionWritersNet Email
Forum Login | Join the discussion
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Tim Koupe

Fantasy Idea - Original or Done Already?

I'm a musician first and foremost. I wrote a little in high school and always enjoyed it, but I never seriously pursued it. Now, for some weird reason, for the past year or so I've incrementally been developing an idea for a story. But not having been exposed much to fantasy or sci-fi, I'm not sure if this is just a rehash - and perhaps a poor one at that. Can anyone tell me if this has been done already?

My idea, loosely relies on the notion that the earth and universe, life as we know it as 4 dimensional, exists as thoughts within a poly-dimensional being. Physics, mass, energy - all properties of the infrastructure as we are physiologically built to understand it, interact with it. Our deaths, are more or less "forgotten thoughts".

Upon our deaths, being "forgotten", we remain unprocessed by the conscious systems of this being. Our souls being the summation of our existence, we propogate ourselves by accessing what we might relate to as the subconscious. Our "afterlife" therefore, is our self propogated existence via the subconscious of the poly-dimensional being we exist within - along with other thoughts that have suffered the same fate. We don't do this deliberately, rather coincidentally, it's a relative subconcious or "instinctive" intent on the part of every life form.