HomeWritersLiterary AgentsEditorsPublishersResourcesDiscussion
Forum Login | Join the discussion
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Please critique

Roy Lindsey

Please critique

Hello, I'm a first time writer. I was looking for some input on my work. This is a first draft of ch.1, but it has had some modifications. Just let me know what you think, thanks. Hope it's not too long

Dr. Sebastian Hoffman, a renowned bio-chemical scientist, was working on one of his many projects. This particular project was to determine the long term impact of refinery waste being dumped into the Mississippi River and how these chemicals affect reproductive habits in fish as well as the dangers of human consumption of the effected fish.
    Dr. Hoffman at age thirty began his carrier with the Leachman Corporation after completing his second Doctorate in bio-science at Yale. In those days his hair was jet black, he didn’t need glasses and his posture was more upright. Now at age fifty-seven, his jet black hair has begun to show flecks of gray. His blue eyes had now become pale and crows feet had appeared at the corners of his eyes from the many years he had spent peering through microscopes. As with many who lead a sedentary lifestyle he had put on a few extra pounds. Though not entirely overweight, his midsection had expanded somewhat giving him a pear shape, which might account for his sagging posture. Dr. Hoffman was a devoted husband and father of two daughters, and a company man who was dedicated and dependable, but there were times when he felt that his years of service lacked something with regards to recognition.
    “Dr. Hoffman?” inquired a man in a dark suit.
    “Yes?” said the doctor turning around to see who was calling him.