HomeWritersLiterary AgentsEditorsPublishersResourcesDiscussion
Forum Login | Join the discussion
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    zeplin 44

Last chapter 1st?

I read an advice piece recently wherein a writer recommended writing the last chapter of a new novel first.

The idea being that facing the blank page of the last chapter would be easier than the blank page of the 1st chapter.

By writing the ending 1st, you know where the book is going and you can then guide the rest of the book in that direction.

Anyone ever tried it?

jayce

Re: Last chapter 1st?

I've never written the entire last chapter before starting out, but I do have the closing action in mind, as well as the turning points between acts I- II and II-III. These serve as my check points along the way, lest the characters hi-jack the story and run away with it.

JC

I always write out my last chapter first as well as five or six scenes that are major events in the novel. No matter how hard I try, I can't write beginning to end. It's always a chapter here, a chapter there, then smooth the lines together.

gulliver h

sorry, that just sounds dumb to me.

A book always changes in the process. Again and again. Becoming married (from the start) to an arbitrary ending seems silly in the extreme.

(and if the book doesn't change in the process of writing it, I'd question that too)

JC

It's no dumber than doing it any other way. Just because you have a certain ending in mind doesn't mean the storyline is going to be static. There are a hundred ways to get from point A to point B.

I figure, give my characters a general idea of where they're going, what they've got to work with, and who their enemies are, and let them do the rest. Otherwise, they're just plugging along wasting my laptop's memory. No destination kind of keeps them spinning in circles (at least in my writing). And if I come up with a better ending later...there's always the delete key.

Smiling Curmudgeon