HomeWritersLiterary AgentsEditorsPublishersResourcesDiscussion
Forum Login | Join the discussion
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: for critique...

Aaron Distor

for critique...

hello dear writers of the world.
    my name is aaron distor. im a high school sophomore given an assignment to creat a short story. i would really appreciate it if you could please take the time to critique my work. your criticism is highly encouraged. thank you.

Reverie
    By: Aaron Distor
    I was alone. Everyone had stopped caring for me, even myself. Just as I picked up the weapon that would reap my life, past memories flashed before me. I was all set to blow my brains out until I remembered the girl.
    I can recall the sky being clear that day. The sun’s warm, comfortable rays had compensated for the frigid air. I stepped into the main office not knowing that destiny had arranged its plans for me. With birds chirping outside the window, I was distracted from retrieving my application to the University. I was a new student signing up for the upcoming semester. Determined to keep my bargain with my parents, my goals were simple; accomplish as much as possible.
    The University was beautiful. On my way to the dorm, my home for the next year, I had noticed the friendly environment that surrounded the campus. Smiles, greetings, and even short conversations were exchanged. When I had reached the dorm room, my roommate Ron had seemed sympathetic enough. “Hey! You’re the new guy right?” I nodded yes. With an attempt to make me feel at home, his impersonation of acting like a Greek god made me laugh. “Welcome! To University Olympus! Where all your wildest fantasies run untamed.” He didn’t seem that much of an average student. Laziness and procrastination was said to ruin a man’s genius; Ron was a groomed example.