HomeWritersLiterary AgentsEditorsPublishersResourcesDiscussion
Forum Login | Join the discussion
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Your opinion...

G. Kozi

Your opinion...

Hi all.

I would like to hear your opinion on a fragment from something I recently wrote. It is the beginning of a longer story I’m working on right now. I’m new to all this and English is not my first language. Of course this means I have some insecurity issues with it... I would appreciate some feedback...
    ---------------------
    The letter slowly fell from his hand and rested on the wooden floor in front of him, almost touching his shoes. Father Ignatius didn’t make any attempt to retrieve it. He just stood there, in the middle of his study, staring at the wallpaper. The moment he dreaded for so long, had finally arrived.

Curious about the cause of such an unusual reaction, Katherine looked at him and wondered if he was seeing some image from the past projected on the wall, or he was just letting the impact of the words written on that piece of paper, sink in. The letter he opened seemed to have made quite a impression on her uncle. He didn’t usually express any emotion in front of her, but this time she could definitely tell he was unsettled by what he’d just read.

Father Ignatius was a slim tall man, who always dressed in a black suit and wore a dog collar that appeared to be tighter than strictly necessary. And as if to leave no one in doubt he was a priest, suspended from a substantial chain around his neck, a big silver cross dangled on his chest. His gray hair was carefully combed towards the back of his head, betraying a little bit of pedantry one wouldn’t usually expect from a clergyman. There was something about him that made people take notice of his presence as soon as he entered a room, but at the same time try to avoid him if they possibly could.