HomeWritersLiterary AgentsEditorsPublishersResourcesDiscussion
Forum Login | Join the discussion
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Hello All

Dawn Gale Prince

Hello All

Hey All
    My Name is Dawn, and I am new to WritersNet. I came here hoping for a positive experience as I try to hone my writing skills and find my rhythm. I suppose I will go full force into it and start this off with the opening paragraphs of a short story I am working on. Comments are welcomed and greatly appreciated. Thanks.

A Color Runs Through It

Upstairs, in my motherís bedroom, I am chipping away at the curling, fraying wallpaper hoping to uncover, from between the layers of wallpaper and paint, my mother and the pink room that never existed. Instead, I find more layers sandwiched in between paint until I lose track of the number of layers it takes to reach my mother who has been buried underneath for years. I remember her somewhere in between the popcorn yellow and the forest green wallpaper period when she didnít look frantic in her own skin. I remember soft brown skin that wasnít encrusted with paint to hold her together from the phantom memories that constantly pecked away at her eyes until you couldnít see her soul.

My mother is downstairs plastering and painting the ghosts from her past into the walls like she does every time her life falls apart and she needs to start a new one. She is patching the gaping holes that used to hang the pictures of them, the current version of the man of her dreams, in happier times. After the patch is dried, she sands them down into smooth blocks that resemble her checkered life. There are many of those sanded little patches all over these walls and in row houses everywhere across the city--each representing a time or a moment that was taken down and sent out with the Tuesday morning trash.