HomeWritersLiterary AgentsEditorsPublishersResourcesDiscussion
Forum Login | Join the discussion
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 8 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: How to critique

DLM Clarke

How to critique

When critiques are requested, it might be helpful to say what type of critique is wanted. I have seen a lot of different types of critiques posted here. If the author only wants grammar, punctuation, or an "I like/don't like it" response, perhaps that should be specified. I am not a professional editor. I am merely trying to be helpful. I think that most of the authors who post asking for critiques realize this and take what they can use from the critiques offered without getting upset or defensive.

I like the critiques which give a response to the original text and then show an example in a rewrite. But that's how I learned to critique, so maybe there are better ways.
    DLM

Gary Kessler

Re: How to critique

Actually (can say this here because it doesn't attach to a specific critique request), I believe that those who post material and ask for critiques think that it's already polished and ready for a Pulitzer; that responders often respond with comments on grammar, punctuation, and spelling mistakes because these are so prevalent they can't see through them to other aspects of the material; and then that the requester becomes defensive about the pointing to the substandard quality of their writing by saying that this isn't really their best material or that it would make sense if seen in context or that they hadn't bothered to polish it and weren't asking for critique in that area.

And, although I think it would be great if critiques followed the pattern DLM suggests, I also think that's just spitting in the wind. Posters will continue to post what's been posted in the past, responders (often in a blind leading the blind fashion) will respond with less than open-mouthed awe, and requesters will sometimes be insulted, defensive, and dismissive in reply.