HomeWritersLiterary AgentsEditorsPublishersResourcesDiscussion
Forum Login | Join the discussion
+ Reply to Thread
    Lisa

Writing Sample for a job interview

OK, I realize that this does not fit in this category, and I apologize. I am an admin. assist. to make ends meet and write on my own time. I have been asked to do a writing sample and bring to a job interview. It is for a Admin. Assist. position with a local tribe. Does anyone have any experience with this? What are they looking for? Any tips or suggestions? I was thinking of doing a page or so on customer service and combining a business/professional style with a little (emphasis on little) personality. I was also thinking of bringing a couple of pages from my policies and procedures manual that I am working on in my current job. I haven't found much luck on this subject on the internet. Any links would be great. I really want this job and want to make an excellent impression. Thank you in advance for your time and suggestions.

Lisa Watkins

Carmella

Re: Writing Sample for a job interview

Lisa, in my opinion, your interviewer will be looking for the kind of material relative to the new position. So in other words, you're on the right track in bringing in the kind of samples you mentioned. It works the same when for me as a freelancer; depending on the article or publication I'm querying, I emphasis certain experiences or send certain clips. (For example, I didn't include any of my family humor pieces when sending samples to the eductional publishers. Educational pub. don't care if I can write funny; they want to know if I can write for kids.)

I hope this helps. Best of luck in getting the job!

Carmella

Pat Cooper