HomeWritersLiterary AgentsEditorsPublishersResourcesDiscussion
Forum Login | Join the discussion
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: The next step

Alysha Raelene

The next step

I am somewhat new to the writing business (at least writing seriously), I have previously self published a novelle but I wouldn't exactly classify myself as a "published author" yet. I'm having the worst of troubles trying to write a captivating query letter, or finding some one who would be interested in representing my work. And I'm not exactly sure where to start looking or what to ask. Any ideas?

Joe Zeff

Re: The next step

Take a look through the Literary Agents forum and you'll see several threads about query letters. Start yours with a "hook:" a one sentence attention grabber to keep agents reading long enough to get interested and follow it with a one paragraph synopsis that doesn't "give away" the ending. The idea here is to get the agent to want more. Be sure to include your word count, rounded to the nearest thousand. Don't start off by saying that you're looking for representation, because that's a given and, for the same reason, don't mention that your book's complete. (If you haven't edited, polished and re-written your book until it's as good as you can get it, BTW, you're not ready to query.) Also, don't mention your self published work unless it's sold a remarkable number of copies, because it won't impress an agent. When you're done, post it in the above forum for critique and suggestions but be sure to don your asbestos undies because we don't pull punches here.

Raven Nights

Hi Alysha & welcome,

firstly let me start by saying others will give you much better advice than me so if anyone's suggestions differ from mine, takes theirs first

As for self-publsihed fiction, you will be told many times over that, just as you mentioned, you are not published in the traditional form, you are self-published.