HomeWritersLiterary AgentsEditorsPublishersResourcesDiscussion
Forum Login | Join the discussion
+ Reply to Thread
    Deidre Shaw

How do I find someone to write my story?

I was one of the jurors on the Warren Jeffs trial. I am interested in telling my story. I am not good at writing. How do I find someone to write it for me?

Jeanne Gassman

Re: How do I find someone to write my story?

Deidre,

Most professional writers will not take on this task unless you pay them. The offers to split royalties and profits 50/50 mean nothing because that money doesn't exist until the book is sold. As you may have gathered, the real work is in the writing of the book. And that can take months or even years.

If you choose to hire a ghostwriter, you usually pay them by the hour or a flat rate for the project as a whole. Fees range from as low as $12 an hour to $60+ an hour, depending upon the writer's experience and qualifications.

I've served on juries twice in the state of Arizona. Are you allowed to discuss the details of this case after the trial is over? Some juries, such as grand juries, must keep all testimony secret even after their terms have ended.

There may be a directory of professional ghostwriters out there. You could try Googling "ghostwriters" and see what comes up.

Good luck to you.

Jeanne

Dee Power

Buy a one month subscription to www.publishersmarketplace.com
    It's about $25 per month. You can cancel after the first month.

On that website there is a database of deals. These are manuscripts, or in the case of nonfiction, book proposals that have been bought by publishing houses.

You can search the database by genre, including nonfiction. go through the last 12 months of nonfiction deals looking for true crime, polygamy, Mormon, whatever fits in the description of the book deal. Make a list of the book title, author, brief description, and literary agent who sold the book.

Next. Go to the contact database and look up the agent's address.